White Noise Insanity

Politicians…don’t piss down our backs and then tell us it’s raining!

Republican Probate Judge Dana Hanley & my absentee ballot

Posted by kayinmaine on October 16, 2008

Whew, what a morning I had yesterday! Something happened that has made me rethink my immediate future.

A couple weeks ago I got my absentee ballot in the mail and I actually didn’t fill it out until this past Monday, because life got a little busy, I was feeling like crap for part of that time (fever, head cold, chest cold etc), and I was indecisive on whether to fill it out or just show up on election day to cast my vote, which is what I love to do. The high energy on election day is addicting! I absolutely love it!

Anyways…

The first stop yesterday morning before leaving town to work for the day was the town office to bring in my absentee ballot for them to record as being received.  What seemed like a lifetime, I stood behind this young couple who were itching to get married, were applying for their licenses, but since the groom was from Russia (though his accent sounded British to me) and had been in our military here, there were more documents etc. for them to fill out, so it took longer than usual. After it was all sorted out to best of everyone’s ability, it was my turn to hand over my first absentee ballot in my lifetime. I stepped up to the counter and handed her my ballot sealed in it’s envelope. As soon as she saw my name on the outside of the sealed envelope, she said…

“Whoa. You’re the woman who wrote the letter to the paper”.

Giggling, I said back to her, “What letter? Oh that letter! Yep, that was me. Did you like the letter I wrote?”, and she said back to me, “I was so happy to read it because it’s something that had to be said, even if you didn’t call him by name”.

What was supposed to be a few seconds of having the office clerk record my absentee ballot ended up being a nice little discussion in the building about local politics. Yep, there we all stood talking about our town’s long time dirty little secret. At one point, I was asked if I had filled out a ‘Talent Bank Application’.

“What the hell is a Talent Bank Application?”, I asked and then I heard a woman say to me, “It’s to apply for a local town committee position. You would be great in heading one and there are openings right now. In fact, right now there’s an opening…”

The next thing I know I’m holding a Talent Bank Application.

Apparently I’ve become the local ‘rock star’ because of the letter I wrote to our local paper. They want me to head up all the local town committees now! LOL I had no idea my cute little letter had made such an impact and people were talking about it until this morning! I told one woman that I’m very opinionated and outspoken and maybe this is not the kind of attitude to have leading one of these committees, and she said back, “Are you kidding? We need you!!!”.

Curious as to what I wrote? Here’s the whole entire letter (the original was much longer but I opted to send the shorter version because most newspaper readers don’t want to read a long one):

Dear Editor:

Joe Robinson is the republican running this year against the incumbent Democrat, Rep. Terry Hayes (a Clean Election Candidate) and I don’t know much about him, except for the palm card he sent around District #94 (Buckfield, Hartford, Paris, Sumner) this past summer.  Because I spend a lot of time online and know how to find the money trails of our local politicians, I was taken aback by what I found out about Joe and who is supporting him. I wonder how the people of District #94 would feel if they knew most of the money going to Mr. Robinson is from himself, a few local businesses, and from his family who are outside the District but who have set up PACs (Political Action Committee) to give him money? None of this is illegal, however, but how would the townspeople feel if they voted him in only to find out individuals from our area weren’t the ones who were supporting him? I don’t think they’d like it. In fact, it would be no different than finding out a local politician actually lived in Cumberland County and is using a P.O. Box here in the area to give the appearance he actually lives here. Again, they wouldn’t like it.

Haven’t we had enough deceit in our lives in the last 8 years? I know I have. This is why for the first time in two decades I’m voting a straight Democratic ticket because I want real change and because I’m tired of the same ole political song and dance coming out of republicans.

It’s kind of a loaded letter and very direct to the point, but the part that the people in the town office were talking about this morning was this part:

In fact, it would be no different than finding out a local politician actually lived in Cumberland County and is using a P.O. Box here in the area to give the appearance he actually lives here. Again, they wouldn’t like it.

Ya see, our town/county/district has a “dirty” little secret and from what I’ve learned over the course of a year living here in this beautiful part of our state is most of the town governments or those in prominent positions are republicans. Their control of the towns has made it so local Democrats don’t feel comfortable in speaking up against the injustices or deceit they see and know of. In fact, one woman said to me at the Norway branch of the Oxford County Democrats this past summer….“because of Barack Obama and the excitement he’s brought to Democrats this is why for the first time in a long time I am so proud to be a Democrat and I am not afraid to yell it in public either”. I love that! But…

…there’s that dirty little secret that no one wants to talk about that was still hidden in the ‘back 40’ for years until I brought it to the barn with the backhoe!

Here goes…

(picture credit)

Republican Dana Hanley is the current Probate Judge at the Oxford County Courthouse. The Register of Probate for the courthouse is Tom Winsor. Both Hanley & Winsor are up for re-election this year and there are Democrats (Attorney Paul Dumas & Attorney Bruce Rood respectively) running to unseat them both.

What republican Dana Hanley is not being honest with the people of Oxford County is that he actually lives in Windham, Maine which is in Cumberland County. In fact, on his candidate application he filled out in March of this year, he gives us the following information:

1) A cell phone number with a Windham exchange as his HOME number
2) A P.O. Box in South Paris, Maine as his HOME address

Hanley has used this information on financial reports after the filing of his candidacy application. In fact, on a Paris voting list, Hanley lists this as his physical address:

1) 43 Main Street, South Paris, Maine which is his LAW OFFICE address

It gets better. Hanley is married to a woman named Linda. Guess where his wife lives? Windham. Yep! Apparently (am I’m using a very lispy sarcastic voice here), Dana & Linda don’t live with each other and haven’t since 1996 when Dana became the Probate Judge for Oxford County! I wonder how Linda feels about this!!!! If they have kids, how the hell did that happen!

Shhhhhhhhh, nobody tell, okay? Spit.

I don’t know for sure if any laws have been broken with the Oxford County Probate Judge living in Cumberland County, but the fact this man doesn’t live in South Paris nor Oxford County (and because he never seems to be ‘home’ if you know what I mean) TO ME IS DECEITFUL AT THE VERY LEAST and the great people of our area deserve the truth! Could it be fraud? Could be.

This is the kind of crap the locals have told me has been going on for years by republicans. There seems to be this unspoken rule where no one is supposed to say a thing. Yep, you just have to buck up and say nothing.

Say nothing? Nothing! Are you kidding me? Which leads me to this….

Maybe I should join some of my local town committees? Yeah, yeah, in fact one of the committees is the Cable TV Committee and I got thinking today what a wonderful way to get the voice of the locals out there (all political affiliations, of course) than to be on the committee who oversees it! I’m thinking what a great idea!

The Democrats of my area have been suppressed long enough. It’s time for REAL CHANGE and real change begins with someone speaking truth to power even if their voice cracks. If we have to kick out the “Dana Hanley’s” of our area because they lack honesty, integrity, and morals, then we will!

See? This whole thing has made me think about my future. I’m going to think about joining a local town committee, of course, but I’m not going to forget the people I’ve talked to for a year now who have felt their voice had no meaning and that they had no right to talk or ruffle any feathers. In other towns I’ve lived in I’ve gone to the town meetings and ruffled some feathers. Why not now? As Barack Obama keeps saying, “Change begins at the bottom”. Yes it does, Barack!

Take the poll…

21 Responses to “Republican Probate Judge Dana Hanley & my absentee ballot”

  1. kayinmaine said

    I’m now getting word that Joe Robinson has sent a letter to the editor in response to my letter. LOL It’s gonna be a bahn burhnah! Let the fun begin!

  2. democommie said

    Kayinmaine:

    Would a reptilican lie? Do they still grow spuds in Maine?

    I just want to leave you with this image.

    After watching the debate (I had the sound turned off) I decided that in solidarity with Joe The Plumber(who may be related to one of the guys who did time for the Keating Five scandal), I am flying my trou at “half-staff”, so to speak, because:

    “when plumbers’ cleavage is outlawed, only outlaws will have “plumbers’ cleavage.”

  3. Carl Nemo said

    I say go for it Kay! You’ll be an asset to the local town committee and it will also be your first step to far greater things in Maine politics. Believe it or not I could see you making it to some of the highest offices in the state and even beyond to DC as a district House Rep etc. Go for it!

    Carl Nemo **==

  4. Uncle Fester Lurks said

    Joe The Plummer is related to Charles Keating!

    http://www.eisenstadtgroup.com/2008/10/15/joe-the-plumber-wurzelbacher-related-to-charles-keating-oops/

  5. Uncle Fester Lurks said

    Give them hell Kay!

  6. Grant in Texas said

    Daily Kos is also on this Joe the Plumber “set up” on Barack Obama. “Joe” says he backs John McCain but was at an Obama Ohio rally saying he “wants” to buy a business. Looks like he may already have his plate full:

    http://www.dailykos.com/story/2008/10/16/02217/845

  7. Uncle Fester Lurks said

    …plumber…:(

  8. Uncle Fester Lurks said

    Joe the plumber was obviously a republican plant and was obviously used by McCain as a type of “gotcha” moment to use on Barack Obama during the debate. Why was it obvious? Because McCain mentioned “Joe The Plumber” at various times during the debate to attack Barack on taxes. Sorry John your little ploy didn’t work out very well did it.

    I noticed lots of deep breaths taken by McCain while Barack Obama spoke last night. Obviously he was holding his breath to control his anger just as his parents had taught him when he was an angry little spoiled brat. Unfortunately he didn’t hold his breath long enough to turn blue and pass out, that would have been more exciting then his talking points.

  9. Grant in Texas said

    It look like “Joe” may have been part of a “script” and a fraud. That or McCain didn’t “vet” him any better than Sarah Palin.

    “…After Joe’s name was mentioned more than the war on Iraq last night, reporters began investigating the background of Joe the Plumber and have learned the following about good ole’ “Joe the Plumber.”

    -Joe is neither a licensed nor registered plumber in either Ohio or nearby Michigan.

    -Joe owes $1,182.98 in back taxes and currently has a $1000 MECHANICS LIEN filed against him for this in Lucas County.

    -Mr. Wurzelbacher said he works under Al Newell’s license, but according to Ohio building regulations, he must maintain his own license to do plumbing work.

    -He is also not registered to operate as a plumber in Ohio, which means he’s not a plumber.

    -Joe admits he doesn’t have a good plan put together on how he would buy Newell Plumbing and Heating….”

  10. Grant in Texas said

    Go for it Kay. You could wind up “mayor, then “governor” 😉 Unlike several in my family, I stayed out of politics because I didn’t want my life put under the microscope. Be careful.

    A California Republican group has sent out a mailer with a $10 “food stamp” with Barack Obama’s picture on it alongside a picture of watermelon, a bucket of KFC, pork ribs, and Kool-Aid. Republicans have already sent out a picture of the White House painted black and a watermelon patch replacing the “rose garden”.

    Maybe they need to start spelling it RepubliKKKan Party.

    http://www.pe.com/localnews/inland/stories/PE_News_Local_S_buck16.3d67d4a.html

  11. Grant in Texas said

    Last posting blocked. The lien on “Joe” is for back unpaid taxes, not a mechanic’s lien which would mean that he really is a “plumber”. At least this shows that “Joe”…a registered Republican was able to attend an Obama rally a week ago without being denied unlike the carefully screened Republican events. Even though “Joe” supports McCain’s plan, since he makes less than $250K a year, he would save more on taxes under the Obama tax plan.

  12. Carl Nemo said

    Lets face it folks; “Joe the Plumber” is a dud also possibly a campaign “plant”, as well as McPain himself, the ever hopeful, future, “liar in chief” …NOT!

    It will surely be refreshing that within a few weeks they will become simply footnotes in political history… 😀

    Carl Nemo **==

  13. Grant in Texas said

    Great photo of McCain, just in time for Halloween:

    http://news.yahoo.com/nphotos/Republican-presidential-nominee-shaking-hands-Senator-Barack-Obama-presidential-debate/photo/081016/ids_photos_ts/r1772410910.jpg/;_ylt=AujAY6EXHmMQy5Zsha09SbsDW7oF

  14. clif said

    Watching “joe”, who’s real name is Sam , in interviews today, he don’t like his other 14 minutes of fame after he tried to dishonestly play the undecided voter to help Faux Noise ambush Obama in a set up piece.

    He is a registered republican and voted in the Ohio republican primary, bet like all right wingers he didn’t think more then five minutes ahead.

    BTW I wonder if he will be doing any more plumbing with out any license in his home town?

    Bet he didn’t think that one would come out either, or his owing back taxes.

  15. clif said

    Least I know what happened to her spelling;

    she got a descent education; (from her latest waste of keystrokes)

    Mine didn’t go down hill,

    it was actually rather decent ….

  16. molly said

    #3,10…You are a born politician. I would be proud to vote for you for gov. , senator or rep. Would also get out the vote for you around here in northern ME.Will also vote straight dem. this year.

  17. kayinmaine said

    Well, it’s official. Joe Robinson wrote a letter in response to mine and he called me a LACKEY. LOL! So, what did I do? I said, “What!! Lackey!???!!!! Well, I never…”, and then proceeded to print off some stickahs that said ‘LACKEY’. It just so happened tonight at the local high school was a forum for the local candidates to discuss their views on the various issues. I walked in holding 2 things:

    My printed off “LACKEY” stickahs

    My extra bundle of “Rep. Terry Hayes” stickahs

    When I walked in front of the familiar looking crowd from my area (some volunteer with me at the local Democratic Chapter), some of them started laughing when they saw my “LACKEY” stickah on my chest with my Terry Hayes stickah next to it. I said, “Okay girls! Put yours on!”. And boy….Joe Robinson who was sitting next to Terry at the table didn’t seem to like the fan club too much! And guess what? The whole audience was mainly Terry supporters. We are so proud of her! She’s terrific. And she has great supportes. She described herself tonight as the ‘skunk at the lawn party’, in other words…when people see her coming, they want to scram because she is very outspoken! I love that about her.

    Anyways…

    Apparently Joe didn’t want to talk to me tonight. Gee, why? Call me a LACKEY…

    😆 😆 😆

    I must admit….when I like someone….I like them a lot and will be there for them….but when I don’t…well, you know. 😆

  18. clif said

    Watch out Kay, they will send joe the plumber after you, remember Nixon had some plumbers also.

  19. kayinmaine said

    I’m working on the post right now Clif! Wowzer! 😉

  20. kayinmaine said

    OMG Grant! That photo of John McCain is horrid yet unusually hysterical!!!! 😆 😆 😆 😆 😆

  21. […] the post I did about current republican Oxford County Probate Judge Dana Hanley and how the documents he’s filled out over time show him not living in Oxford County, but […]

Leave a comment